Tuia Te Taurahere | Trust Deed Review 

Puanga ki te Rangi, Puanga ki te Papa.

Ko te Kereru e kai ana i te hua o te miro.  Nā te Kereru I kawe, I whiu I te kākano o te miro ki wahi kē o te ngahere, whakatā mō te wā, anā ka tupu ake.  Ka mihi o te tau hou. 

We have initiated a review of the Ngā Tāngata o Whanganui Trust Deed, which sets out the terms and operations of Ngā Tāngata Tiaki o Whanganui Trust.

Over the next six months, we will be engaging and consulting with Whanganui whānau, hapū and Iwi around the motu to carry out the review.

These hui are an opportunity for us to come together and celebrate how far we have come, to look at what has been achieved and to think about what is required for the future.

We are pleased to announce that Sam Bishara (Ngāti Tūwharetoa) has been appointed as the Independent Facilitator to conduct the review.

 

Check out some photos taken from our hui held in our tupuna rohe in June.

Background

Ngā Tāngata Tiaki Trust was established on the 4th of August 2014 to receive the assets and responsibilities arising from Te Awa Tupua (Whanganui River Claims Settlement) Act 2017. 

When Ngā Tāngata Tiaki Trust was established, the Trust Deed included a review clause that states that within five years of the Settlement, the Trustees shall initiate a review of the terms and operation of this Deed and, in particular, shall review the arrangements relating to the election of Trustees and all other aspects of the representation of Whanganui Iwi by the Trust.

The review should help us to identify pathways for greater connection and contribution, as well as enabling Te Awa Tupua and the role of Ngā Tāngata Tiaki to be more widely understood.


Overview

The review process will be undertaken in two phases:

Phase One | June – July

Our Trustees will hold a road show around the motu and online focused on celebrating our Iwi journey and gathering your input into how the Trust Deed Review should occur.

Key Dates

Whanganui

Tuesday 14 June 2022

3.30pm

Ngā Tāngata Tiaki o Whanganui, 357 Victoria Avenue, Taurawhiri Room, Whanganui.

Ohakune

Thursday 16 June 2022

11.00am

Te Pae Tata Community Hub, Ohakune

Taumarunui

Saturday 18 June 2022

11.00am

Ngāpuwaiwaha Marae,Taumarunui

Auckland

Tuesday 28 June 2022

6.00pm

Auckland – Te Puni Kokiri Tamaki Makaurau, 9 Ronwood Avenue, Manukau City

Wellington

Wednesday 29 June 2022

5.30pm

Wellington – Te Papa Tongarewa Museum, Icon Room, Level 2, 55 Cable Street, Wellington

Christchurch

Thursday 30 June 2022

6.00pm

Christchurch – Te Pūtahitanga o Te Waipounamu, Level One, DMC House, 2 Dundas Street, Christchurch

Invercargill

Friday 1 July 2022

6.00pm

Invercargill –Kelvin Hotel, 6TH Floor Conference Room, 20 Kelvin Street, Invercargill

VIRTUAL HUI 

Wednesday 6 July

6.00pm 

Please click the link below to join the webinar:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85710673178?pwd=YmdLRHFzYU5MaTRVVUMwL0UvNjVCUT09

Passcode: 449923

Waitara

Thursday 7 July 2022

1.00pm

Taranaki – Waitara Library & Service Centre, 15 Queen Street, Waitara

Hawkes Bay

Friday 8 July 2022

6.00pm

Hawkes Bay – Havelock North Function Centre, 30 Te Mata Road, Havelock North

 

Phase Two | August – September

The independent facilitator Sam Bishara, supported by a small team (the Review Team) will lead the engagements and consultation across the country, and online, to review the Trust Deed. The Review Team will receive, compile, and review any written submissions.

At the end of the process the Review Team will make recommendations to the Trustees as to any amendments that should be made to the Deed.

Dates and venues for Phase 2 Hui are being confirmed.  Follow our facebook page or check out our website for up-to-date information otherwise, we will advise once all information is confirmed. 

 

Tuia Te Taurahere

It is important that the review captures and reflects the voices and aspirations of our people.

There are several ways that you can connect and contribute to this kaupapa:

  • Kānohi ki te kānohi through a series of hui around the motu
  • Online via virtual Zoom hui - dates to be confirmed
  • Written feedback 
  • Over the phone 

 

Helpful Resources

 

Further queries

If you have any further questions about the Trust Deed Review, please email us at office@ngatangatatiaki.co.nz or phone us at 0800 AWA TUPUA.

Register

Have you and your whānau registered for the Whanganui Iwi Registration?
And are your details up to date?