New Trustees for Ngā Tāngata Tiaki

Awa Stills9

New Trustees for Ngā Tāngata Tiaki

The results are in for the Trustee election 2021-2024

Tēnā koutou katoa e ngā hapū me ngā iwi o tai, o uta, huri noa

The results of the Trustee election for Ngā Tāngata Tiaki for 2021-2024 are in, and the successful candidates are returning trustees Dr Rāwiri Tinirau, Che Wilson and Joey Allen, and newcomers Sheena Maru, Tāwhiao McMaster, Tamahaia Skinner and Elijah Pue.

We would like to mihi to everyone who has participated in the election processes this year.

It is heartening to see so many of our people put their hands up to contribute to the legacy created by our tupuna.

The candidates will officially take up their role at the conclusion of the Ngā Tāngata Tiaki Annual General Meeting which will be held virtually on September 12th, due to uncertainty surrounding Covid-19 restrictions.

It important to recognise the contributions made by outgoing Trustees, in particular the unwavering and committed leadership of Gerrard Albert, who has led the Trust since its inception.

A new pathway has been created from their work and it is now time to hand it over to a new team to pick up the mantle.

Another positive outcome of the election process was seeing more people sign up to the Whanganui Iwi Register seeking to be involved and participating in tribal decision making.

We continue to encourage our whanau who are from Whanganui Iwi to register and to get in touch with the Trust on to make sure their details are up to date.


Have you and your whānau registered for the Whanganui Iwi Registration?
And are your details up to date?