Election of Trustees 2024-2027

Election of Trustees for Ngā Tāngata Tiaki o Whanganui for 2024-2027

Ruruku Whakatupua

The Whanganui River Deed of Settlement, Ruruku Whakatupua, was signed at Rānana on 5 August 2014. Ruruku Whakatupua represents the culmination of many years of dedicated work by our people to have the mana of our Awa and the mana of the lwi recognised by the Crown. Ruruku Whakatupua heralded the creation of the new and unprecedented legal framework for Te Awa Tupua.  Recognising Te Awa Tupua as an indivisible and living whole from the mountains to the sea, affirming the mana of hapū and lwi and our inalienable connection with the Awa, and provides for the health and wellbeing of both the lwi and the Awa.

Ngā Tāngata Tiaki o Whanganui Trust (Ngā Tāngata Tiaki) was established to lead the implementation of Ruruku Whakatupua in conjunction with the uri, whānau and hapū of Whanganui lwi and manage, grow, and develop the financial assets of the lwi to contribute to the health and wellbeing of Te Awa Tupua and all Whanganui uri, whānau and hapū.

The current seven (7) Trustees of Ngā Tāngata Tiaki took office in September 2021 with the responsibility of representing the interests of Whanganui lwi as a whole. Their term will expire in September 2024 and all seven (7) Trustees will vacate their seats (although they are eligible to stand again).

The seven (7) seats are filled via a two-stage process:

Stage one - Seeks nominations to fill three (3) seats from Te Rūnanga o Te Awa Tupua (the Rūnanga) the names of which must be received by Ngā Tāngata Tiaki by 29th of May 2024.

Stage two - The second stage, commencing in June 2024, seeks nominations for four (4) candidates elected from Whanganui lwi members generally. This process is due to be completed by September 2024.

Stage One: Nominations by Te Rūnanga o Te Awa Tupua

The Rūnanga may resolve to submit as many nominations as it sees fit to Ngā Tāngata Tiaki. If more than three (3) nominations are resolved by the Rūnanga then a postal vote of all adult registered members will be held to select the three successful candidates.

If only three (3) individuals are confirmed as the nominations of the Rūnanga then those individuals will automatically be confirmed as Trustees and will take office at the September 2024 Annual General Meeting.

Timeline and Key Tasks

22 April 2024 - Nominations to the Rūnanga open. Nominations must be made using the official Nomination Form with all relevant supporting documentation attached. Official Nomination Form can be found at this link.

20 May - Nominations for three Trustee positions to be filed with Te Rūnanga o Te Awa Tupua close at 12pm. A list of nominees and profiles is sent to hapū delegates. 

Nominations vetting begins in accordance with the Second Schedule of the Trust Deed and eligible nominees are publicly notified to Whanganui lwi.

24 May - Letters confirming hapū delegates for voting purposes at Rūnanga on the 25th of May hui must be received at runanga@teawatupua.com by 5pm.

25 May - Rūnanga hui at Hiruharama. Hapū decide who the nominees are to fill three Trustee (3) positions on Ngā Tāngata Tiaki. (Rescheduled)

29 May - Nominations are confirmed in writing on behalf of Rūnanga by Ngati Hau (as Rūnanga host and chair of Rūnanga hui) to Ngā Tāngata Tiaki.

08 June - The 25 May Rūnanga hui was rescheduled for two weeks time, now being held Saturday 08 June at Patiarero Marae, Hiruharama hosted by Ngāti Hau for hapū to further discuss the nominees. Hapū decide who the nominees are to fill three Trustee (3) positions on Ngā Tāngata Tiaki.

Election Requirements

The requirements in relation to the nomination of candidates by the Rūnanga are set out in paragraphs 4.2 to 4.6 of the Second Schedule of the Trust Deed. A summary of those provisions and other information relevant to the nomination of candidates by the Rūnanga is attached as an appendix which can be found at the bottom of the following link.

Upon the completion of the Rūnanga process, nominations will be sought from all registered adult Whanganui lwi members for the remaining four (4) Trustee positions and following an election process, all seven (7) Trustees will be confirmed and take office at the conclusion of the September 2024 Annual General Meeting of the Trust.

Enquiries regarding the rūnanga can be addressed to the rūnanga working party by email to runanga@teawatupua.co.nz.

Should the Rūnanga not be able to fill any of the (3) Trustee positions, then any vacancies will be opened up for lwi wide nomination and voting. The process for filling the generally elected seats is as follows:

June 2024 - Nominations open for election of four (4) (or more Trustees depending on the outcome of the Rūnanga process) generally by Whanganui lwi.

July - Nominations close and nominees are vetted.

August - Postal voting opens to all adult registered members of Whanganui lwi to fill all available seats.

September - Postal voting closes.

September - Seven (7) Trustees take office as Trustees. Their term expires in September 2027.

Official Nomination Form - link here

For all enquiries in relation to the elections process, contact the Kaihautū, Chief Executive Officer Nancy Tuaine at nancy@ngatangatatiaki.co.nz or by phone on (06)  281 3409.


Do you whakapapa to the Whanganui River? Would you and your whānau like to be registered on the Whanganui Iwi Database? What does that mean?

It means that you get sent pānui and updates on kaupapa related to the Whanganui River and Te Awa Tupua, the people and the river from the Mountains to the Sea. You can also apply for the different grants that are advertised on our website and facebook page.

If you are already on the database and need to up date your details please head to the database or send us an email at office@ngatangatatiaki.co.nz